Round 3 Phillip Island: Saturday Wrap

Round 3 of the VSRS at the iconic Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit got underway in tricky yet changeable conditions on Saturday, boasting a massive entry list of 265 cars split across 12 different categories.

Phillip Chester claimed the opening event of the weekend in the MGs and Invited British Sports Cars, taking the win in the shortened four-lap race ahead of main rival, Vince Gucciardo. Keith Ondarchie, Gary Bulmer and Barry Pritchett rounded out the top-10.

Alex Jory extended his lead in the BMW E30s single-make category with a slim win over Michael Bailey in their opening race of the weekend. Brian Bourke claimed the final step of the podium following a close battle for the top-three.

24 cars lined up for the Porsche 944s, with Jamie Westaway claiming the win after an intense battle with Cameron Beller. 944 President, Mark Taubitz, took P3, just ahead of Tony Westaway.

Reef McCarthy secured the opening race of Formula Vee after starting from pole. Returning Ash Quiddington made it home in P2, following a heated battle with Heath Collinson. Ash Clifford finished fourth after a strong qualifying, just ahead of Shane Purvis.

Mark Brewster steered his Holden Torana to victory in the Historic Touring Cars, beating Michael Miceli and Andy Clempson with rain making a rude appearance mid-way through the race.

Rodney Earsman converted pole to a win in a shortened HQ heat, nudging out Rodney Raatjes and Ryan Woods for the honours. Ray Jardine meanwhile charged back from outside the top-10 to be P4.

The opening race of the Improved Production Cars was called short following a crash involving David Cocks, losing control of his Commodore shortly after the start and hitting the wall hard on drivers’ left.

Simon Tabinor was the beneficiary of a late-race spin from Saloon Cars Championship leader, Travis Lindorff, who suffered a scary moment coming onto the main straight. Tabinor won, ahead of the Falcon of Daniel Johnson and the Commodore of Anthony Beare.

Ben Schoots claimed Race 1 of the Sports Cars after starting from pole in his LS powered Sin. Andrew Hall made a cameo in the lead, before Schoots made his way back into the lead at the mid-point of the race. Lovett finished P3, behind Hall. Michael Kokkinos meanwhile made it home P4, just ahead of a fast-finishing Geoffrey Taunton.

Tom Sargent made it six wins from as many starts in season 2021, overcoming Conor Somers and a swift Clayton Richards for the Duratec honours. James Meaden and Jack Clifford diced it out for the Kent class victory, crossing the line ahead of Mark Zellner.

Dean Camm won Race 1 of the Sports Sedans starting from Row 2. Tony Groves secured P2 after winning a spirited battle with Paul Pennisi for the second step of the podium. Taunton featured in his second racing appearance of the day, storming home to P3.

The Hyundai Excels were the final race of the weekend in a shortened schedule. Jarred Farrell was leading the race before it was Red flagged, ahead of Kobi Williams and Dale Carpenter.